Matavera eyes rare cricket double

Saturday December 07, 2019 Written by Published in Other Sports

Historic beckons in the domestic cricket competition final today.


Matavera is going for a historic double in the Rarotonga Cricket Club Competition final today.

Both their men’s and women’s teams will be battling it out for the titles in the showdown to be held at the Matavera Cricket Ground.

The teams remained unbeaten throughout the weekly competition and are a match away from a remarkable feat.

Matavera will play former champions Tupapa in the men’s final and Turangi in the women’s.

Matavera defeated Tupapa twice this season and the side is ready for their third win in the do-or-die clash.

Led by Ray Roumanu, Matavera has performed well with the bat and the ball. 

Top hitter Ben Vakatini, who scored 444 runs averaging 88 runs per game, will spearhead their campaign. Vakatini will be supported by the likes of veteran players Roumanu, Osolai Akai, Iro Maroroa and Moni Uini.

Cook Islands Cricket chief executive officer Davis Teinaki said the team’s biggest strength was most of their players were all-rounders. 

“They can bat really well and bowl amazingly sharp, a recipe for a balance and a wining T20 side.  Of course Matavera will be favourite to win the grand finale,” Teinaki said.

However Tupapa cannot be underestimated as they have proven giantkillers at many occasions.

Team captain Wayken Punga said: “Tupapa lost twice to Matavera in the competition and to me that will be enough to motivate my boys to really turn up to play in the final.”

In the women’s final, Matavera who won the title last year are the top bets again.

The Apii Tangata skippered side has the likes of stars Tina Mato, Phillica Maruariki, Bene Matato and Punanga Kaveao, to name a few.

Davis Teinaki said: “Matavera will be favourite because they have the experience and the stats to support them. The whole team setup is just amazing to watch … being undefeated during the round robin shows how hard it is to beat this Matavera side.”

Turangi, on the other hand, will throw everything at Matavera to reclaim the title they held in the past. The side will rely heavily on the experience of Mona More and June George.

The women’s final will start at 12 noon followed by the men’s at 2.30pm.




Leave a comment