Apii Avarua claims badminton title

Saturday November 23, 2019 Written by Published in Other Sports
Apii Avarua players receive their prize. 19112264 Apii Avarua players receive their prize. 19112264

Cook Islands Badminton focus on junior development in the annual primary schools meet.


Apii Avarua are the primary school champions after two days of intensive competition at the National Auditorium.

The school amassed 146 points to claim the Tupui Ariki Henry Memorial Trophy yesterday.

The tournament is part of Cook Islands Badminton’s junior development programme.

Following are the 3rd Annual Primary School Tournament Day results:

Year 4 Boys Doubles Champions Apii Avarua - Claude Simpson and Leo Nand, Runner-Up Imanuela Akatemia - Ethan Short and Luke Newbigging. Year 4 Girls Doubles Champions Apii Avarua - Terii Tuakana and Ngatungane Tearii, Runner-Up Apii Nikao - Tui Ponia and Rosa Kureta.

Year 5 Boys Doubles Champions Imanuela Akatemia - Alandis Pin Willie and Elijah Rani, Runner-Up  Apii Avarua - Eliakima Webb and Aaron Hioe. Year 5 Girls Doubles Champions Apii Nikao - Arihoia Marsters and Darlene Kureta, Runner-Up Apii Arorangi - Lana Aperau Toa and Tangi Tangapiri.

Year 6 Girls Doubles Champion  Apii Avarua - Raetea Rongo and Casonya Bates. Year 6 Girls Runner-Up Apii Arorangi - Dannielle Arona and Hiriaterau Pitomaki.

Year 6 Boys Doubles Champion St Josephs - Kaiyin Mataio and Joshua Ravuaceva. Year 6 Boys Doubles Runner-Up Apii Avarua - Davis Tetauru and Aporo Williams.

Badminton Cook Islands would like to thank the following supporters: Prime Foods, Brian Mason, Turoa Bakery, Vili's Golden Wok, Kora Pearls, McLeod Pearls, Ned Marsters, Manuka Family, Turou Retreat, Vaiakura Holiday Homes; who with their contribution to the sport, make the tournament possible for the children.



Leave a comment