Locals impress at AIMS Games

Thursday September 13, 2018 Written by Published in Other Sports

After three days of competition, Team Cook Islands has notched up some fantastic results at the Anchor AIMS Games Badminton Competition in Tauranga, New Zealand.

Starting with the singles competition, each of the Team Cook Islands 17 players were placed in pools of six along with players from all over New Zealand and the Pacific.

After round robin pool play, the top player goes through to division one, the runner-up to division two and so forth. 

“The level of play was extremely high compared to previous years but our players still performed well especially against the Auckland and New Zealand ranked players. But it was Loureina Kureta who got the team all excited by being the first-ever Cook Islands player to break into division one.

“Despite going down in the first round of knockouts, she made her team mates and school very proud,” said Badminton Cook Islands president Thomas Ngauru.

“Congratulations to Emanuela Mataio, Tereapii Akavi and Tehani Matapo for reaching the finals of their respective divisions after three rounds of tough matches.

Each of them fought hard in a best of three set final, but could not continue the winning streak, winning a prize and certificate for runners-up.”

After the singles competition prizegiving, the doubles competition began, seeing Elijah Gukisuva pair up with ranked New Zealand player Haden Mingoa.

“Play was very quick and at times overwhelming for some players, with some mixed results from our players, but we hope day four brings some better play.”

Ngauru said the Cook Islands team wanted to thank everyone for the support, especially from families in Tauranga. 

“Special thank you to Tarita Hutchinson and family, Karen Nicholas and Rose Taringa and our followers on Facebook for all your support.”

Competition continues for another two days before the team returns to Rarotonga on Friday.

            - Release


Results for Team Cook Islands: Division 1: Loureina Kureta (Apii Nikao) Division 2:  Daniel Apii, Tereapii Akavi, Renee Peraua and Fritzjordan Peraua (Nukutere College), Ray Marsters (Lucky School), Mary Mare and Samson Harry (Papaaroa School) and Mareta Marsters (Apii Avarua) Division 3: Setephano Vakatini and Rima Kareroa (Apii Avarua), Emanuela Mataio, Tehani Matapo and Chiann Naslund (Nukutere College) and Jonah Mare (Papaaroa School) Division 4: Elijah Gukisuva (Nukutere College) and Division 5: Cramon Hewett (Nukutere College).

Leave a comment