Sea Eagles lead league

Monday March 18, 2019 Written by Published in League
Ngatangiia Matavera Sea Eagles thumped Takuvaine Warriors 94-10 on Saturday. 19031723 Ngatangiia Matavera Sea Eagles thumped Takuvaine Warriors 94-10 on Saturday. 19031723

Unbeaten Ngatangiia Matavera Sea Eagles have taken the lead in the Raro Cars Rugby League Competition 2019 after a massive win over the weekend.


The Sea Eagles thumped Takuvaine Warriors 94-10 at the Happy Valley Field on Saturday.

The win puts the Muri-based club in the driving seat with 10 points from five matches.

The Sea Eagles have only the Arorangi Bears to play to complete the opening round of competition. The Bears who have lost only a match were on a bye over the weekend.

In the other premier matches, defending champions Tupapa Panthers defeated Aitutaki Sharks 50-20 on Friday.

The struggling Avatiu Eels lost again after going down to Titikaveka Bulldogs 12-14 at The Swamp on Saturday.

The win sees the Bulldogs go ahead of the Eels in fourth place.

“With one more game to play in round one, the undefeated Sea Eagles leads the pack on 10 points,” said Tai Nelio, the Cook Islands Rugby League competition coordinator.

“The Bulldog’s win against the Eels advanced them into the top four along with the Sea Eagles, Bears, and the Panthers.

“Round two looming up will start seeing some serious football with teams making a charge for a spot in the top four.”

Nelio was impressed with the turnout of supporters in the matches on Saturday.



Nines team

A call for all the elected 9s rugby league squad to turn up at the touch game today at 6pm against the Kuki Squad: Ozwell Tupopo, Andre Iro, James Strickland, Julius Iti, Eddie Nicholas, Arii Nicholas, Christian Hosking, Spoon Marsters, Mau George, David Paulo, Teremoana Paerau, Tanire Mokoroa, Aljamaine Epati, Francis Smith, Brendan Smith, James Crombie, Hugh Henry, Thomas Toa, Willie Kauvai.

Leave a comment