Cookies win Nines comp

Tuesday February 05, 2019 Written by Published in League

An Australia-based Cook Islands team has won the 17th edition of the annual Cabramatta International Nines held at New Era Stadium in Sydney over the weekend.


The Cook Islands squad defeated the host, Cabramatta, 22-6 in the final on Friday (CI time) to win their first Cabramatta Nines title.

The team comprised players from the Queensland Kukis team which took part in the Cook Islands Rugby League Nines Tournament on Rarotonga last month.

Cook Islands which was grouped in Pool A defeated USA Tomahawks 14-10 and ASEAN XIII 22-4 in the pool competition.

In the quarter-final, the side overcame a strong Papua New Guinea Kokomos 16-14.

Cook Islands defeated Italy 20-16 in the semis before overcoming Cabramatta Sky 22-6 in the final.

According to, the Cook Islands players used the tournament to push for inclusion in the nation's World Cup qualifying campaign.

The Cook Islands are scheduled to play United States later in the year for a place in the 2021 World Cup and officials are hoping they will have the services of NRL and Super League stars such as Alex Glenn, Dylan Napa, Zane Tetevano, Brad Takairangi, Anthony Gelling and Dominique Peyroux at that tournament in England.

However, most of the squad is likely to be drawn from the Cook Islands, New Zealand and Australian competitions outside the NRL, and players from NSW and Queensland will have an opportunity to press their claims at the Nines.

The Cooks Islands team, known as Ozzy Cooks, were one of 18 men's sides competing in the tournament, which has grown since 2003 and also features teams representing Italy, France, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Japan, Ireland, Columbia, South Sudan and composite African, Mediterranean and ASEAN outfits.           

                - RK/

Asia Pacific RL


Group Matches: Pool A: Cook Islands 14 – 10 USA Tomahawks, Cook Islands 22 – 4 ASEAN XIII, USA Tomahawks 20 – 6 ASEAN XIII; Pool B: PNG Kokomos 14 – 14 Glebe-Burwood Wolves, PNG Kokomos 10 – 8 Glebe-Burwood Wolves; Pool C: The Kooris 14 – 10 Cabramatta Royal, Cabramatta Royal 10 – 6 South Sudan, The Kooris 20 – 12 South Sudan; Pool D: Ireland 18 – 8 Africa United, Ireland 18 – 10 Poland, Poland 16 – 12 Africa United; Pool E: Colombia 22 – 8 France Banty Roosters Blue, Italy 32 – 0 France Banty Roosters Blue, Italy 20 – 0 Colombia; Pool F: Cabramatta Sky 22 – 12 Japanese Ronins, Japan Ronins 10 – 6 France Banty Roosters Red, Cabramatta Sky 16 – 0 France Banty Roosters Red; Finals: Cup Finals: Quarter Finals: Italy 4 – 0 Cabramatta Royal, Cook Islands 16 – 14 PNG Kokomos, Cabramatta Sky 20 – 12 USA Tomahawks, The Kooris 14 – 12 Ireland; Semi Finals: Cook Islands 20 – 16 Italy, Cabramatta Sky d. The Kooris; Cup Final: Cook Islands 22 – 6 Cabramatta Sky. Trophy Finals: Quarter Finals: Glebe-Burwood Wolves 34 – 10 ASEAN, Colombia 6 – 0 Africa United, Japan Ronins 16 – 12 France Banty Roosters Red, South Sudan 18 – 4 Poland; Semi Finals: Glebe-Burwood Wolves 40 – 20 Colombia, South Sudan 14 – 8 Japan Ronins; Trophy Final: Glebe-Burwood Wolves and South Sudan declared joint winners.

Leave a comment