Print this page

Residents prep for league series

Saturday July 07, 2018 Written by Published in League

The Cook Islands Residents team’s preparations for the biennial rugby league Tri-Series are getting underway from Monday.

Cook Islands Rugby League Association yesterday released a 54-member preliminary squad for the opening training session on Monday at Victoria Park, starting at 5pm.

CIRLA competition coordinator Taua Benioni said coaches Bobby Hansen and Darren Piri will have their hands full considering the numbers of players named in the squad.

“As an introduction to the series, players will be briefed on what is to come before and after leading up to the Pacific Games in mid-June, 2019,” said Benioni.

“It may seem a long time but really it is no more than 11 months away as there’s plenty of rugby and rugby league to be played in between.

“Both coaches understand the commitment players have with their clubs during the rugby, soccer and other sporting codes, thus the reason for the Monday training.

“The sooner they know what they have as in commitment, then the better to work out the time for preparation.”

Benioni said the Cook Islands Rugby League Association expected full commitment from all players, coaches, team management, club executives and the association.

“When it comes to being named to represent our country, it may not be at the international professional level but we can be as professional as we can,” he said.

“Congratulation to all players named as per your various club, but as we suggest, the door is open on training night so feel free to come along.”

Residents squad

Tupapa Panthers: Teina Savage, Sam Mataora, Thomas Toa, Oki Naea, Rangi Piri, Othniel Joseph, Jamian Iroa, Eddy Nicholas, Nadave Tereapii, Eric Newbigging; Avatiu Eels: Tokerau Raru, Tamanui Nicholas, Louis Mokoroa, Stanley Tuaivi, Junior Kiriau, Puna Hiro, Arii Nicholas, Toru Katuke, Nathan Tisam, Joshua Motu, Ben Murare, Tyson Oa’ariki; Takuvaine Warriors: Ngatamaine Rongo; Ngatangiia Sea Eagles: Christian Hosking, Ngamata Miriau, Mark Tuaati, Stormel Ruatoe, Daniel Toa, Mike Tou, Willie Kauvai, Alan Toa, Tama Hunter, Dominique Noo; Titikaveka Bulldogs: Teariki Matenga, Pastor Zekaria, Ozwell Tunupoupou, Sai Nagi, Geoff Magele, Clark Ngaau, Jordan Samuel; Arorangi Bears: James Strickland, Spoon Marsters, Rob Heather Junior, Andre Iro, Sam Taoro, Kayel Iro, Tanire Mokoroa; Aitutaki Sharks: Hugh Henry, Ngarima Simiona, Teariki Taua, Mau George, Teremoana Paerau, Tairi Tepaki, Lance Kamana. For further enquiries, contact coach Darren Piri on 54101, Bobby Hansen on 52186, and/or Taua Benioni on 50893 or by email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .