Cricket announces Pac Games squads

Wednesday March 20, 2019 Written by Published in Cricket

Cook Islands Cricket Association has released the men’s and women’s national training squads for the Pacific Games which will be held in July in Samoa.


Association chief executive officer Davis Teinaki said the players were selected based on their performance in the recent domestic competition.

Teinaki said with time not on their side, they would try their best to put together formidable teams for the games.

“As way of preparation for the Pacific Games, Cook Islands Cricket will run its first training (this week) to prepare the best players to represent the Cook Islands in cricket at the games,” he said.

“As time is our enemy number one, we need to give both our men’s and women’s teams the best chance to get into shape and best conditions, ready for the competition. 

“We have selected the best players on the island from the various clubs to train hard to get themselves better prepared.”

The players in the training squads are expected to meet at Turangi Oval tomorrow at 5pm, weather permitting. 

“If it’s raining at that hour, all players are asked to meet at the cricket office in Nikao at 5.30pm. Fingers cross the weather will be nice,” Teinaki said. “CICA would like to encourage all clubs to get behind their players to help out with raising funds to help the players get to the Pacific Games.”

Teinaki said the training was also open to any other players, not mentioned in the squad and wish to join the team.


Pacific Game Training Squad

Men’s – Turangi Cricket Club – Mapu Maoate, Toutika Ioane, Vane Jnr Tangimetua, Vane Snr Tangimetua, David Piakura, Pakia Wichman, Tutu Tangimetua; Tupapa – Wayken Punga, Samuela Peua, Kunta Ritawa; Takuvaine Cricket Club – Ula Teinaki; Matavera Cricket Club – Ben Vakatini, Osolai Akai, Ray Roumanu, Moni Uini; Nikao Cricket Club – Deacon Teapa, Tomoale Pana, Melody Melota, Patiiamai Ataela; Arorangi Cricket Club – John Glassie.

Women’s – Turangi Cricket Club – June George, Kimi Tare, Mona More, Ani Tauta; Matavera Cricket Club – Punanga Kaveao, Tina Mato, Phillica Maruariki, Helania Maruariki, Apii Tangata, Bene Matapo; Nikao Cricket Club – Rachel Auora, Unaonga Tiere; Avana Cricket Club – Annie Taufahema, Memory Monga; Tupapa – Tori Riata Piira, Tinapa Yakilia.

Leave a comment