JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 599

Turangi on top in women’s cricket

Monday November 06, 2017 Written by Published in Cricket

Turangi finished the Rarotonga Cricket 2017 Season women’s competition on top after preliminary rounds which ended last Saturday.


The side defeated Tupapa by 50 runs in its final match to head into the playoffs as the top seed.

Against Tupapa, Turangi batted first and scored 192 runs for two with Tekura Kaukura top scoring on 72 runs followed by Mona Amoa on 61.

In reply, Tupapa tried hard but were all out for 142 runs, with three overs to spare.

Veteran June George was impressive in bowling for Turangi after collecting three wickets in four overs she bowled.

In the other women’s match in round seven last week, Avana recorded a resounding nine-wicket victory over the Takuvaine side.

Takuvaine battled first and struggled to post 36 runs before losing all their wickets in the 17th over. In reply, Avana, which finished the preliminary rounds in second place ahead of defending champions Muri, managed to overcome the score in 5.5 overs with a loss of a wicket.

In the men’s competition, Matavera continued its unbeaten run with another magnificent performance against former giants Tupapa.

Tupapa batted first and were all out for 74 runs in 15 overs with Paka Daniel top scoring on 19 runs. Moni Uini created a havoc for the Tupapa batting order, taking four wickets from the four overs that he bowled.

In reply, Matavera led by the veteran Ray Roumanu managed to reach the target in 15 overs with loss of seven wickets.

Defending champions Turangi also maintain their unbeaten run after a four wicket win over Muri.

Muri batted first and were all out for 73 runs in 18.4 over and in reply, Turangi managed to overcome the score in 10.2 over, with loss of six wickets.

Turangi’s Tutu Tangimetua was the top scorer in the match with 36 runs while Osalai Akai took five wickets in four overs in the win.

In the other men’s matches, Nikao recorded a default win over Arorangi, Takuvaine defeated the Under-19 development team and Tavana overcame Tupapa II.

Weather permitting, the round eight men’s competition will be held at various grounds around the island today.

Meanwhile the women’s teams will have a break this week and return in the playoffs next weekend.

However, the Country women’s team will have its trials at 12.30pm today at the Turangi Oval.

Players (listed below) are requested to be on time. Refreshment (kaikai) will be provided by the sponsors after the trials.

Country trials teams

Team 1 – Shemaiah Boaza, June George, Enua Peyroux, Lina Taufahema, Ina Willie, Taina Naea, Nina Taufahema, Josh Maoate, Etana Taufahema, Mona Amoa, Grace Rea, Maiarii Short; Team 2 – Mii Maoate, Ta Kaukura, Annie Taufahema, Lisa Tatakura, Margaret Simiona, Ravea Samuel, Joan Greaves, Sela Taufahema, Deana Paiti (Capt), Cathy Taufahema,Tu Short, Toru


Men’s – Arorangi-U19 at Raemaru Park, Nikao-Tavana at Nikao Field, Turangi-Tupapa at Turangi Oval, Muri-Matavera at Nukupure Park, Takuvaine-Tupapa II at Happy Valley

Leave a comment