Arorangi, Takuvaine join top four

Tuesday October 20, 2015 Written by Published in Cricket

Arorangi Red Hot Chicks and Takuvaine have joined leader’s Muri and Avana in the top four of The Computer Man women’s cricket competition.


Arorangi’s win against Takuvaine over the weekend saw them collect four points and finish the round as the third highest qualifier. With Nikao and Matavera out of contention for the top four, the battle for the final place was left between Takuvaine and Tupapa.

Both teams, with eight points each, had to settle the score on technical grounds.

“Rarotonga Cricket playing conditions stipulate that if teams end the round on equal points, the decision on which team progresses is dictated first by ‘who beat who’, failing a result from that, then by ‘net run rate’ with Takuvaine emerging ahead of Tupapa,” said Cook Islands Cricket chief executive officer Alister Stevic. Arorangi has been a powerhouse in the women’s cricket competition since its inception but was unable to make the finals last year.

However, the team is determined to regain their lost touch and go a notch up this season.

Stevic said Arorangi had a slow start this year with some new players but had looked sharp in the last few rounds.

Arorangi skipper Moeroa Mathewson said some of their key players left the team last season and they were working on developing newcomers to fill the void.

“We have some newbies in the team who we are trying to develop. We were not expecting to do that well based on the team, we have but we will try our best to finish well,” Mathewson said.

“We will stick to basic cricket and try to improve on our fielding which has not been that strong. We are working on our bowlers and trying to minimise the errors which have let us down.”

The top four teams will play in round robin competition starting this week to determine their placing for the semi-finals.

The other three teams Tupapa, Nikao and Matavera will battle in a round robin bottom three competition.


Final standings: 1. Muri 2. Avana 3. Arorangi 4. Takuvaine 5. Tupapa 6. Nikao 7. Matavera.


Leave a comment