Cricketers end final month of competition

Wednesday December 03, 2014 Written by Cook Islands Cricket Published in Cricket

It’s the last three weeks of the Rarotonga men’s and women’s cricket season and six teams are in the hunt for the Championship.

The new Rarotonga Cricket Association, chaired by Hori Miller, vice president June George and secretary Stephanie Vaiimene, are responsible for the managing of the senior men’s and women’s competitions and say it has been an up and down season with plenty of important lessons learned. 

Miller says it has been a major learning curve this season.

“The committee is passionate about seeing people playing and enjoying their cricket and that is why we volunteered to help run the men’s and women’s season,” says Miller.

“The committee and the clubs have made mistakes along the way but we feel the clubs and the committee are improving, growing in strength and in a positive position.”

The RCA, much like other island sports associations and the Rarotonga Cricket Umpires Association have been created to provide a sustainable manner in which to manage the development of cricket on Rarotonga.

At the completion of the men’s round robin, Muri, Titikaveka, Tupapa and Arorangi progressed through to the men’s top four competition. 

Titikaveka’s win over Muri last weekend saw the Titans head into the final while Muri will take on Tupapa this weekend for the final spot. 

Matavera and Takuvaine lead the bottom five competition on 6 points each followed by Nikao (3), Davana (0), Tupapa II (0) and Turangi (0).

The Muri women remain unbeaten after 8 games this year and a win over Avana last Saturday saw Muri book a spot in the final. Avana have a second life when they take on the winner of Arorangi versus Tupapa. 

Takuvaine lead the women’s bottom four competition on 6 points with Nikao in second (3) and Matavera in third place.

According to statistics software CricHQ, Vane Tangimetua leads the batting scorecard having posted over 300 runs this season. 

Titikaveka’s Cameron Thorpe is in second spot notching up 228 runs while Patiiamai Ataela, Nic Rous and Glenn Miller have all passed 200 runs for the season.

Muri’s Mike Hoff is the men’s leading wicket taker having sneered 24 wickets this season while Timi Barnes, Tiri Toa, Chauncey Flay, Daniel Vailoa, Nga Taiti, Elia Tangimetua, Moni Uini and Vane ‘Junior’ Tangimetua have all reached double digits for the season.

Muri’s Matina Pittman is the leading women’s run scorer with 261 runs followed by team mate Memory Kauvai (123), Muri captain Punanga Kaveao (118) and Nikao’s Turanga Tere with 115 runs.

Youngster Jasmanda Tuaputa rounds out the lead wicket taker with 18 wickets followed by Avana’s Lina Taufahema with 12, Punanga Kaveao 11, Memory Kauvai 10 and Takuvaine’s Rachel Williams with 10 wickets.         

Leave a comment