Print this page

Tuaine wins prestigious arts award

Monday October 07, 2019 Written by Published in Local
Glenda Tuaine .19100601 Glenda Tuaine .19100601

Glenda Tuaine is one of the seven Pasifika artists who will receive the prestigious Creative New Zealand Arts Pasifika Awards.

The Rarotonga-based artist will be bestowed with the Special Recognition Award which recognises an individual whose work, influence and commitment have raised the standards, expectations and reputation of Pacific Arts and artists.

Yesterday, Tuaine said she was “blown away” when she learnt about the award.

“I am so very proud of what is achieved within the Pacific community in Aotearoa, in our Pacific regionally and internationally. I am a product of those who gave me the time and energy over the years to mentor, advise, work with, understand the concepts, critic, argue with, challenge, fund, support, collaborate and believe in,” Tuaine said.

“It is our role to share our knowledge, to uplift, to be honest, and to own a creative industry that builds careers, economic futures, preserving and producing work that is owned and developed by the Pacific and those we chose to collaborate with.”

Tuaine grew up in Christchurch and has worked in the creative industry in New Zealand and the Pacific for three decades.

Her work spans music, film, mentorship, artist development, visual arts and advocating and showcasing Pasifika creatives. She is a writer, director and musician, and also develops projects that help support and nurture future artists.

Her work also encompasses running and managing festivals, including being the first Pasifika Artistic Director of the NZ Fringe Festival (2002 – 2004) and the inaugural Opera in Paradise, which brings Pasifika opera stars into the Cook Islands to pass on their legacy of excellence.

Her work has featured and been delivered in New Zealand and internationally in the Cook Islands, Tahiti, Australia and Europe.

The other recipients are Pati Umaga Qsm, Eteuati Ete, Louisa Humphry and Kaetaeta Watson, Anapela Polataivao, Tyla Vaeau and Samson Setu.